St. Paul's United Church of Christ (1877)

114 South Broad Street

Historical Background

St. Paul's German Evangelical Protestant Church was organized in 1876, and construction was started on the building in 1877. The exterior of the old section of St. Paul's was completed in 1877. The interior of the church was not fully completed until 1891. Ten stained glass windows were installed in 1920, and a large stained glass window depicting "The Lord's Supper" was added in 1939. The large, well-crafted windows are one of the most striking features of the church. Another unique feature is the second floor sanctuary.